A presentation by archivist and researcher Eva Guggemos
Saturday, March 7, 2020 at 11 am At Five Oaks Museum On the PCC Rock Creek Campus 17677 NW Springville Rd, Portland OR 97229 On unceded Kalapuyan land
Until a few decades ago, it was U.S. federal policy to take children away from Native American families and place them in boarding schools. These schools punished students for any expression of their Native cultures or languages.
One of the earliest such boarding schools opened in Forest Grove in 1880 and operated there until 1885. Its descendant, Chemawa Indian School, is still open today in Salem. The school has had profound and lasting effects on the tribes of the Pacific Northwest. This talk will include images and maps of the school, and will speak on the forces that drove its founding. It will also describe the daily life of students and how we can confront the boarding school systems legacy of trauma.
Admission is free for members, and $12 for general admission. Purchase tickets online at Brown Paper Tickets using keywords “Five Oaks Museum”.
Ticket proceeds will support the creation of an after-school art program for students at Chemawa Indian School.
Eva Guggemos is the Archivist and an Associate Professor at Pacific University in Oregon. Previously, she was the Research Services Librarian at Yale Universitys Rare Book Library. She has an M.A. in History from Yale University, a Master of Library Science from Simmons University, and a B.A. from the University of Kansas. At Pacific, she has spearheaded a project to digitize all the university’s records related to the Forest Grove Indian School, which later became Chemawa Indian School in Salem. Her current project is a book on the Forest Grove Indian School.
Presented in conjunction with This IS Kalapuyan Land Exhibit open now until June 20th
Five Oaks Museum: Moving History Forward For 64 years Five Oaks Museum, a private nonprofit organization, has worked to preserve the artifacts and narratives that define the Tualatin Valley’s unique place in the world. By collaborating with others to explore how art, culture and history shape the past and influence the future, Five Oaks helps visitors connect to a collective local history made up of community voices and the important stories they tell. The museum is ADA accessible.
Five Oaks Museum is open to the public Wednesdays through Fridays from noon to 4pm and Saturdays from 10am to 4pm.
For admission, memberships, events and more: visit www.fiveoaksmuseum.org email email@example.com call (503) 645.5353